Nintendo E3 Direct Conference Impressions

Nintendo’s new strategy of skipping E3 and only doing a Direct that only they’re hosting worked out awful. It lagged through all the good stuff but played perfectly fine for the garbage like the Wii Fit and stuff. Huge Pokemon fan so I was very excited to see a new type revealed, and also older Pokemons are getting retyped to Fairy as well so that’s awesome. I didn’t get to see a lot of the petting stuff but that looks like something kids would love, I couldn’t care less for that though. I was disappointed that Retro’s next game is Donkey Kong, I was hoping for a new IP or something, didn’t a Donkey Kong port just happened like last month? Also the new 3D Mario game is very disappointing. When I first saw it I assumed it was a 3DS game, instead it’s for the Wii U. It looks fun but I don’t think it belongs on the Wii U, I wanted to see a more open Mario game like Galaxy and 64, not a sequel to a 3DS game.

The impression I get from the Wii U is that its basically a more expensive 3DS that lacks the portable advantage of the 3DS. The only game that really wowed me was obviously Smash Bros. Oh my god, the beauty. Finally Smash in HD, hopefully its playable at E3 and we get to see some gameplay clips. I was very surprised by Mega Man, that was a awesome surprise. I also loved that wrestling ring stage they showed, that was fucking awesome. It looks like they teased the return of boss battles at the end as well when they showed Mega Man getting ready to fight Yellow Devil. The Direct didn’t make me feel like I’m missing anything good on the Wii U, the good stuff is coming in 2014 so I don’t need it any time soon. Plus, there was no price drop, the Wii U is only $50 more expensive then the ps4. Speaking of that I just remembered that Sony didn’t announce a price drop for the Vita. Overall the show felt like it played it safe, too safe.

 

Edit: A new character was announced for Smash Bros… Wii Fit Trainer… No, seriously… What a fucking waste, hopefully shes the only “joke” character and they’re just getting that crappy character out the way.

Leave a Reply

