What I Hope is the Xbox Reveal

So the Xbox reveal is tomorrow. Unfortunately I have school so I won’t be able to watch it live 😦 . However let me share with you what I hope is in the reveal tomorrow; I honestly want the always online rumor to be true. For those not familiar with the rumor apparently the next Xbox will require an internet connection to do anything with it. It doesn’t help that a Microsoft employee was also defending always online as well, even going as far as to mock people who live in areas with a shitty internet connection. Now allow to to explain why I want the rumor to be true.

This generation has been extremely anti consumer. with certain parts of the games blocking mulitplayer or some single player content unless you buy it new, Diablo 3 and Simcity requiring internet connection to play the game as a form of DRM, and so on. Now making a system that only works with internet connection is taking it a whole step further and is probably one of the most anti consumer thing you could do with a system. So why exactly do I want it? for the market to flat out reject it and the system to fail miserably. To teach game corporations that they can’t walk all over us and the only thing we can do is “deal with it.” I want a nice thick visible line to be drawn for these corporations so they know what they can and CAN’T do. Well anyway that’s my 2 cents. It might be poorly written since I’m extremely tired and still got a lot of work to do but I hope you get the basic gist.

Leave a Reply

