Sonic Generations Short Review

Sonic Generations tries to do two things, please old school 2D Sonic fans and also appeal to 3D Sonic fans. Personally, I much prefer 3D Sonic as it has a much stronger emphasis on speed than 2D Sonic, but hey what do I know? The only 2D sonic games I enjoyed were the Sonic Advance series so I guess it isn’t my place to say if 2D sonic is boring or not. But anyway, Both Sonic’s world collide and are broken up so now you must race through nine different worlds to put them back together. each of the world’s has two acts, one for modern Sonic and another for old school sonic, making a total of 18 stages, plus a bunch of challenges that I couldn’t possibly care less about. All the stages are from previous Sonic games so you’ll be visiting Green Hill Zone all up to a stage from Sonic Colors. By the way, City Escape from Sonic Adventure 2 is here with a remix of the original song. Hands down my favorite stage in the entire game.

The music in the game is great, I’m not the hugest Sonic fan so I can’t compare them to their original versions excluding for songs in Sonic Adventure 2 but they all sound really great to me. The visuals are also very stunning which is helped by a good art direction. If you played Sonic Unleashed or Colors you should already know how Modern sonic plays(awesome). Old school sonic plays like as you would expect, although while I wasn’t the biggest fan of the original sonic games, Sega still hasn’t quite perfected his feel. I don’t know how to put it but he still plays a bit off. For example, he’s a bit slippery even when he’s not running at full speed which is quite frustrating. Also the final boss is a huge let down, its poorly implemented and very boring, without spoiling anything all you got to do is hold the dash button the entire fight. Also I beat the game in four hours so there really isn’t much main content. If you’re into challenge levels you’ll most likely finish it in about seven or so hours since even those aren’t all that challenging. If you’re itching for some Sonic I’d recommend this game, although not at its current price since there isn’t all that much content to justify the price, see if you can find it for $5 or something.

6.7/10

Leave a Reply

