Metal Gear Solid: Revengance Demo Impression

mgs

The Metal Gear Solid: Revengance demo was released yesterday for Xbox 360 & the PS3(and very late might I add) and if i had to describe it to you in one word it would be: Spectacular! But lets get its problems out the way first, shall we? For starters, I found parrying to be difficult at first, I didn’t know how to pull it off, but by the boss fight with the chainsaw dog at the end I got the hang of it. Trust me, you MUST learn how to parry or that dog is just a bitch(excuse the pun), it killed me twice before i “got it”. But the more annoying problem was blade mode. Blade mode is when Raiden goes into his free cut mode. The left stick is used to control your direction while the right stick was used to control the direction of the blade. For me it was just painfully awkward to use, but I’m sure by the time the full game is released I’ll eventually get the hang of it, might even go play the demo a couple of times more as well. Also, I’m not too sure about the Xbox version since I played the demo on the PS3 but I did notice frame rate drops when I started cutting too many pieces, nothing too bad but its there.

Raiden controlled amazing and the action was just beyond awesome. It even has some nods to the series with the alert feature as well. Battling the Gekkos and cutting them up in a hundred pieces was beyond satisfying, the game even features weapons as well(the demo contained RPGs and grenades). If you have time i highly recommend downloading the demo and giving it a shot, parrying might be a bit weird but keep trying, it’ll become your best friend once you get the hang of it.

Leave a Reply

